Bible consists of 72 Books with two Parts: Old Testament and New Testament. Old Testament narrates the Salvation History before Jesus Christ and the New Testament accounts for the Salvation History during and after Jesus Christ. Jesus Christ is the center of the Salvation History and the Bible is centered on Him. Starting from the creation story, the Old Testament prepares the people to welcome the Messiah.

There are 46 Books in the Old Testament, written probably between 1000 and 100 BC and they have three sections:  1. Torah or The Law: The first five Books of the Old Testament (namely, Book of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy) 2. The Prophets 3.  The Wisdom Literature

The original language of the Old Testament Books was Hebrew. It was not until the third and second century BC, it was translated into Greek by some Jewish scholars and adopted by Greek-speaking Christians. Traditionally it is believed that about 70 scholars made the Greek translation. Hence this Greek Version was officially called Septuagint Version (Septuagint in Latin means 70).

The second Part of the Bible is the New Testament with 27 Books. These Books describe the Salvation History between the time of Our Lord and the end of the first century. They contain:

  • 4 Gospels
  • 1 Acts of the Apostles
  • 21 Letters
  • 1

In the year 405 Pope St. Innocent-I listed these 27 Books along with the 46 Books of the Old Testament and affirmed it as the official Sacred Scripture for the Catholic Church.

May The Word of God be the light to the path of our life.


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *